Final Project Proposal

My group is going to do our final project on Video Game Theory. We plan on addressing the culture or communities associated with people who play video games. Video games have breed a completely unique following of people. They have created their own mannerisms and even their own language. I have a good amount of experience with the mannerisms and culture of people who play video games. When I was younger I played quite a bit of online video games. I have pretty much grown out of it now but when I was younger my favorite thing to do was play console video games online. I really think this is when video game culture really started to gain steam and grow. Computer games have always been online but console games being online is relatively new. For our project we were thinking about doing a video. The basis of the video would be my group and I would be playing a board game such as Monopoly or Candy Land. While playing the game we would play as if we were playing a video game online. What I mean by this is when people play games online many of them act differently then if they were actually interacting with people face to face. The video would be a parody of typical personalities that people exhibit in online gaming. Another idea we had was to do a video of video game addiction. Anything can be addicting but it is really interesting to see just how far some people go in regards to video games. We could make a video that exaggerates video game addiction in a comical way. It would be over the top, but it would be addressing a real life issue. I know there were a few games I played way too much. I put playing the game in front of more important things. Looking back on it I don’t know why I cared so much about video games. Its just a game, it doesn’t matter. I think this would be a very interesting avenue to explore in Video Game Theory.

Leave a comment